Top of page.

Broadland Liberal Democrats

We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off

bird logoAbout the Broadland District Liberal Democrat local party

The parliamentary boundaries in Norfolk changed for the 2010 General Election and there are plans to revise the constituencies once more with boundaries to be reviewed on a 5 yearly cycle in the future.

In view of the changing nature of the constituencies, the National Liberal Democrat party decided to reorganise the local parties along district council lines from the beginning of 2018 to enable members and councillors to focus on local issues in a unified area and to avoid the possibility of needing to re-arrange the local parties whenever the parliamentary boundaries are re-drawn.

The old Broadland Constituency and Norwich North Constituency parties were wound up at their respective AGMs in 2017 and the two groups joined at an inaugural meeting in November 2017 to convene the new Broadland District local party.

The Broadland District Council area encompasses 48 parish, 3 town councils, and 12 parish meetings in 27 wards. You can see a map of the area here: google maps - Broadland District Council Area

The wards are:

Acle, Aylsham, Blofield with South Walsham, Brundall, Burlingham, Buxton, Coltishall, Drayton North, Drayton South, Eynesford, Great Withingham, Hellesdon North West, Hellesdon South East, Hevingham, Horsford and Felthorpe, Marshes, Old Catton & Sprowston West, Plumstead, Reepham, Spixworth with St Faiths, Sprowston Central, Sprowston East, Taverham North, Taverham South, Thorpe St Andrew North West, Thorpe St Andrew South East, Wroxham.

Following the elections in May 2019 the number of councillors increased from 6 to 12 Liberal Democrat District Councillors at Broadland District Council and two of these are also Norfolk County Councillors. With your help we can make it more.